Revisit the conference Museums and Social Responsibility – Participation, Networking and Partnerships

 This images announces the digital conference Museums and Social Responsibility. Various logos of supporting and hosting organisations are included. The background is dark blue and shows pictogramms of people as well as a map of Europe.

The recordings from the EU Presidency conference that took place online from 23-24 March 2021 are now available to be watched online. The conference was organised within the framework the Portuguese Presidency of the Council of the European Union by the Directorate-General for Cultural Heritage in collaboration with NEMO and the Slovenian Museums Association.

Museums and Social Responsibility – Participation, Networking and addressed key issues posed to museums from a social perspective and pointed out possible clues for the future in the areas of culture, art, society, education, economy and territory. The focus on these aspects served as a basis for discussing what social responsibility means for museums in today’s challenging world, through the exploration of strategies to promote participation, networking and partnerships, as well as innovative methodologies for assessing the social impact of museums.

The conference was the second of three museum conferences to be organised in connection with the Trio of Presidencies of the European Union (Germany, Portugal and Slovenia). The first edition Museums and Social Responsibility - Values revisited was organised by NEMO from 17-18 September 2020  and the third and final edition, Museums and Social Responsibility – What's Next?, will be organised online from 23-24 September 2021 by the Slovenian Museums Association

Museums and Social Responsibility – Participation, Networking and Partnerships was well-received and more than 1000 participants joined. 25 speakers shared their knowledge during the conference days. The speakers represented 11 different countries: Portugal (10), France (3), Croatia (3), Germany (2), Ireland, United Kingdom, Denmark, Colombia, Finland, Malta and Slovenia.