Number of museums:


Art and Design:   53

History:   134

Science:   -

Natural History:   11

Special:   69

Other:   9

Total number of museums:   276

Professionally run museums:   156



Ownership of Museums:


State:   20

Municipalities, communities:   42

Private (foundations, associations, etc.):   214

Others:   0



Museum organisations:


Danske Museer (Danish Museums Association)



Museum magazine:

Danske Museer
Published six times a year


Legislation and structure:


The museums (all categories) are administered according to the Danish Museum law, which state the purpose of museums, gives rules for granting state subsidy, regulations for investigations and other scientific work and regulations for co-operation. Danish Museum Act (1958 /2001).The Danish museum structure is decentralised, but co-operate regionally through museum county councils and The National Council of Museums.